Cart 0

Show everything by Zero Boys

Zero Boys - Vicious Circle (LP) - Vinyl Record LP - 1

Zero Boys - Vicious Circle (LP)

$ 17.99 $ 20.99

Scorching blast of mid-west punk rock! Get this classic Zero Boys album on vinyl before it goes out of print again. 2009 remastered reissue.


When he walked into Keystone Recording in Indianapolis on August 18, 1981, Zero Boys singer Paul Mahern told producer/engineer John Helms he wanted his band's debut LP to "sound like the Germs' GI," released two years prior. "He really nailed it!" laughed Mahern recently. Much agreed: Few records have ever sounded this whizbang buzzing. And whereas GI transformed an appallingly shambolic L.A. band into a shocking powerhouse, Vicious Circle merely snared a smokin' Indiana band that'd been rehearsing five hours a day -- so tight they spun this corker out in just two days, by recording live together. It still bursts out of your speaker on CD as it did off a needle when released on Nimrod records 19 years ago. Terry Hollywood's razor-zinging guitar and Tufty Clough's Speedy Gonzalez' bing-bing-bing bass playing (fastest fingers in the Midwest) burn like blowtorches, and drummer Mark Cutsinger plays like he IV'ed amphetamines. Mahern sings like a hurrying rabbit, rapid-firing words about assassinations/celebrity-shootings, anti-nostalgia, having a "high time," and, well, doing speed. Whereas other records of the new hardcore scene tried to sound tough, this was like Johnny Thunders, Sex Pistols, Ramones, Dictators, and S.L.F. on 45, smiling like dopes. Reissued with two bonus tracks from the same session, Vicious Circle remains a vicious pleasure of frenzied attitude, chops, speed, tight playing, and rocket-launching zeal.

-All Music


A1 Vicious Circle
A2 Amphetamine Addiction
A3 New Generation
A4 Drity Alleys/ Dirty Minds
A5 Civilizations Dying
A6 Livin' In The 80's
A7 Drug Free Youth
B1 Down The Drain
B2 Outta Style
B3 You Can Touch Me
B4 Forced Entry
B5 Hightime
B6 Charlies' Place
B7 Trying Harder
B8 Slam And Worm
B9 She Said Goodbye

Original Release Year: 1981

Label: Secretly Canadian

Catalog #: SC188

Format: 12" Vinyl LP

Vinyl Color: Black

Condition: New

More details about vinyl grades

Share this Product

More from this collection