Cart 0

Show everything by x

X - The Masterpiece Collection (4 x LP) - Vinyl Record LP

X - The Masterpiece Collection (4 x LP)

$ 89.99 $ 109.99

The Masterpiece Collection is a four L.P. Limited Edition Collectors Box Set. It features 'Los Angeles', 'Wild Gift', 'Under the Big Black Sun', and 'More Fun in the New World'. All four L.P.s have been painstakingly re-mastered from the original master recordings and pressed on premium 180 gram black vinyl.

Each Includes all original artwork. The box itself features a huge embossed gold foil X logo as well as a tasty black on black varnish of Exene's famous iconography.

Every element of this release, from re-mastering to artwork has been personally overseen by the members of X.

The highlight of the set is a twenty page booklet featuring a foreword by X's producer and Doors keyboardist Ray Manzarek. Ray's foreword represents his last written account of his association with X and the impact that the band had on him personally.

The members of X discuss the making of each of these four landmark recordings in the booklet and additionally, luminaries like Tommy Stinson (The Replacements), Penelope Spherris (Director), Dave Alvin (The Blasters) and  Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam) contribute their thoughts and appreciation for X and this incredibly body of work.

The booklet contains and absolutely jaw dropping collection over 45 never seen photographs, including shots from the band member's personal collections.

This release is limited to 1500 hand numbered copies and is a must for X fans and punk rock historians.


X were far from the first punk rock band in Los Angeles, and they weren't the first to achieve some level of nationwide recognition, but in a very real way, they were the ones who put the L.A. punk scene on the map. X were the first L.A. punk band to be taken seriously by the rock press on both coasts, and at a time when many wondered how punk could thrive in the land of all that was mellow, X played music that was as raw, passionate, and powerful as anything coming out of New York, London, or any other major city. X's melding of punk's speed and ferocity with the sounds of rockabilly, blues, country, and other roots music styles would prove to be wildly influential in the years that followed, as were the off-kilter harmonies of John Doe and Exene Cervenka. Their first two independently released albums were critical favorites and sold remarkably well by small label standards, helping establish Slash Records as a major independent label. And while they never enjoyed the commercial breakthrough that many believed was their due, X were massively popular in their home town and could successfully headline large outdoor venues like the Greek Theater, proving there was an audience for punk in the City of the Angels.

-All Music


A1 Your Phone's Off The Hook, But You're Not
A2 Johnny Hit And Run Pauline
A3 Soul Kitchen
A4 Nausea
A5 Sugarlight
B1 Los Angeles
B2 Sex And Dying In High Society
B3 The Unheard Music
B4 The World's A Mess, It's In My Kiss
C1 The Once Over Twice
C2 We're Desperate
C3 Adult Books
C4 Universal Corner
C5 I'm Coming Over
C6 It's Who You Know
D1 In This House That I Call Home
D2 Some Other Time
D3 White Girl
D4 Beyond And Back
D5 Back 2 The Base
D6 When Our Love Passed Out On The Couch
D7 Year 1
E1 The Hungry Wolf
E2 Motel Room In My Bed
E3 Riding With Mary
E4 Come Back To Me
E5 Under The Big Black Sun
F1 Because I Do
F2 Blue Spark
F3 Dancing With Tears In My Eyes
F4 Real Child Of Hell
F5 How I (Learned My Lesson)
F6 The Have Nots
G1 The New World
G2 We're Having Much More Fun
G3 True Love
G4 Poor Girl
G5 Make The Music Go Bang
G6 Breathless
G7 I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts
H1 Devil Doll
H2 Painting The Town Blue
H3 Hot House
H4 Drunk In My Past
H5 I See Red
H6 True Love Pt. #2


Original Release Year: 2013

Label: Porterhouse

Catalog #: PHR 2011

Format: 12" Vinyl LP

Vinyl Color: Black

Condition: New

More details about vinyl grades

Share this Product

More from this collection