Cart 0

Show everything by Black Sabbath

Various - Heavy Metal, Music From The Motion Picture (Used 2 x LP) - Vinyl Record LP - 1

Various - Heavy Metal, Music From The Motion Picture (Used 2 x LP)

$ 11.99

Release Details

Great collection of early 80's hard rock! 1st Press on black vinyl


The title Heavy Metal is somewhat misleading. Sure, this terrific soundtrack from the 1981 animated cult favorite features heavy metal and hard rock numbers. But the title refers to National Lampoon's sci-fi/fantasy magazine on which the film is based. Musically, Heavy Metal offers more than the title suggests, and the songs fit perfectly with their respective film segments. Heavy Metal was originally a double album, but at 62 minutes it fits just fine on one CD. Sixteen songs are contributed by Black Sabbath, Blue Oyster Cult, Cheap Trick, Devo, Donald Fagen, Don Felder, Grand Funk Railroad, Sammy Hagar, Journey, Nazareth, Stevie Nicks, Riggs, and Trust; Cheap Trick, Felder, and Riggs each provide two. Most songs are exclusive to this soundtrack. The best-known song here is Journey's ballad "Open Arms." Blue Oyster Cult's darkly menacing "Veteran of the Psychic Wars" is a haunting gem. Devo's quirky, new wave interpretation of the Allen Toussaint-penned "Working in the Coal Mine" was a minor hit. Black Sabbath's blistering "The Mob Rules" is a fine example of the underrated Ronnie James Dio era. Felder's "Heavy Metal (Takin' a Ride)" and "All of You" are well-crafted, and they make a good argument that he was the Eagles' secret musical weapon. Fagen's "True Companion" is a delightful jazz-rock song that would have fit nicely on a Steely Dan album. The odd thing is this five-minute tune is practically an instrumental; Fagen doesn't start singing until 3½ minutes in. Nazareth's "Crazy (A Suitable Case for Treatment)" has a hypnotic rhythm. Stevie Nicks' "Blue Lamp" is clean, upbeat pop/rock. Cheap Trick's "Reach Out" and "I Must Be Dreamin'" rely more on synthesizers than power-pop guitars. Riggs' "Radar Rider" is basic, catchy hard rock.



A1     –Sammy Hagar     Heavy Metal     3:50
A2     –Riggs     Heartbeat     4:20
A3     –Devo     Working In The Coal Mine     2:48
A4     –Blue Öyster Cult     Veteran Of The Psychic Wars     4:48
B1     –Cheap Trick     Reach Out     3:35
B2     –Don Felder     Heavy Metal (Takin' A Ride)     5:00
B3     –Donald Fagen     True Companion     5:02
B4     –Nazareth      Crazy (A Suitable Case For A Treatment)     3:24
C1     –Riggs     Radar Rider     2:40
C2     –Journey     Open Arms     3:20
C3     –Grand Funk Railroad     Queen Bee     3:11
C4     –Cheap Trick     I Must Be Dreamin'     5:37
D1     –Black Sabbath     The Mob Rules     2:43
D2     –Don Felder     All Of You     4:18
D3     –Trust      Prefabricated     2:59
D4     –Stevie Nicks     Blue Lamp     3:48

Original Release Year: 1981

Label: Asylum

Catalog #: DP 90004

Format: 12" Vinyl LP

Vinyl Color: Black

Condition: Used: Cover in great condition, light edge wear. A piece of paper with a number written on it was taped in the upper corner. Vinyl looks like new. Includes original printed inner sleeves. Image shown above is the actual item you will receive.

Vinyl: NM

Cover: VG+

More details about vinyl grades

Share this Product

More from this collection