Cart 0

Show everything by Red Yeti AEC

The Liberation - Liberation -  (Vinyl)

The Liberation - Liberation - (Vinyl)

$ 20.98

Release Date: 7/1/2016 

 Vinyl LP pressing. Liberation is the 2016 release by David West, a dedicated underground dweller and traveler with his groups Rat Columns and Rank/Xerox who has also been spotted in Lace Curtain and Total Control. Familiar elements of West's songwriting creep out from the speakers this time around, albeit in a more adventurous and personal manner-swathed in analog and FM synths, pinned down by near-funk drum machines, and with a vision expanded into the past and future. In previous incarnations, West's alienated and fragile vocals have battled with jangling guitars and distortion, but Liberation sets free his woes and ruminations into space. Taking inspiration from the heyday of Mute Records and electronic dance music's early experiments with sampling, Liberation's debut LP is 10 songs of the road, about the nameless ghosts on the highway, accidental lovers, the alienation of the stranger in a strange land, the unbearable weight of freedom. Esteemed engineer Mikey Young's (Total Control/Eddy Current Suppression Ring) production prowess makes for a distilled yet inviting loneliness. 

 1 You Do the Rest 2 Looking for a Lover 3 Move Me 4 Forget 5 Distant Song 6 Demonstrate 7 Whatever You Want 8 Cold and Blue 9 Leaves Falling 10 Flight Number

Details On Record Grading