Cart 0

Show everything by Nobunny

Nobunny - Raw Romance (Used LP) - Vinyl Record LP - 1

Nobunny - Raw Romance (Used LP)

$ 9.99

Release Details

Awesome second album by Nobunny! 1st Press on black vinyl.


Can a guy seem sweet and pervy at the same time? Nobunny certainly gives that a try on Raw Romance, an album that opens with an audio clip from the movie Buffalo 66 before it segues into "Your Mouth," a song that implies a great deal without explicitly saying nearly as much as he rhapsodizes about the mouth of his beloved. That seems to be the underlying theme of Raw Romance; here Nobunny serves up a handful of his simple, slightly ragged pop songs, many featuring little more than his voice and acoustic guitar, in which he sings with simple glee and a childlike enthusiasm about many things that have a clear sexual undercurrent. Then there's "Mask's On," where he leaves subtlety by the wayside for a moment as he talking about leaving "Pawprints on your face/Pawprints on your ass" as he and his partner blindfold one another (for the record, he does add, "Please don't get me wrong, I don't wish to hurt you" moments later). Nobunny often enjoys walking a fine line between what's fun and what's a bit creepy, and on Raw Romance, he treads it like a tightrope walker, alternating playful innuendo with moments where he hints at less then wholesome sexual appetites -- how little is that little girl in "Apple Tree"? And why is he quoting the "It puts the lotion on its skin or else it gets the hose again" line from Silence of the Lambs in "I Am a Girlfriend"? (The same song also includes a sample from the Martin Scorsese film After Hours; if nothing else, Raw Romance gives us an unprecedented look into Nobunny's movie collection.) Nobunny's way with a lo-fi hook and a poppy/punky melody line doesn't fail him, and the cover of "Tonight You Belong to Me" is genuinely charming, but Nobunny tells us a little bit more than we need to know on Raw Romance, which makes it less than funny and somewhere in the neighborhood of uncomfortable; it's an album that works a lot better if you don't pay attention to what anyone is saying.

-All Music


A1 Your Mouth
A2 Oh Cody
A3 Mask's On
A4 Monster Kiss
A5 Apple Tree
A6 Hippy Witch
B1 I Am A Girlfriend
B2 It'll All Come Back To Haunt You
B3 Tonight You Belong To Me
B4 Mess Me Up
B5 The Gutter
B6 Vicious Circle

Original Release Year: 2009

Label: Burger Records

Catalog #: BRGR012

Format: 12" Vinyl LP

Vinyl Color: Black

Condition: Used - Cover in great shape, some light edge wear. Vinyl looks like new with only a few light scratches. Image shown above is the actual item you will receive.

Vinyl: VG+

Cover: VG+

More details about vinyl grades

Share this Product

More from this collection