Cart 0

Show everything by Faith No More

Faith No More - The Real Thing (LP) - DELUXE EDITION - Vinyl Record LP

Faith No More - The Real Thing (LP) - DELUXE EDITION

$ 34.99 $ 39.99

Release Details

Faith No More's groundbreaking third album! 2015 deluxe 2 x LP limited reissue on 180g vinyl with new liner notes and rare bonus tracks!


Starting with the careening "From Out of Nowhere" driven by Roddy Bottum's doomy, energetic keyboards, Faith No More rebounded excellently on The Real Thing after Chuck Mosley's was fired. Given that the band had nearly finished recording the music and Mike Patton was a last minute recruit, he adjusts to the proceedings well. His insane, wide-ranging musical interests would have to wait for the next album for their proper integration, but the band already showed enough of that to make it an inspired combination. Bottum, in particular, remains the wild card, coloring Jim Martin's nuclear-strength riffs and the Bill Gould/Mike Bordin rhythm slams with everything from quirky hooks to pristine synth sheen. It's not quite early Brian Eno-joins-Led Zeppelin-and-Funkadelic, but it's closer than one might think, based on the nutty lounge vibes of "Edge of the World" and the Arabic melodies and feedback of "Woodpeckers from Mars." "Falling to Pieces," a fractured anthem with a delicious delivery from Patton, should have been a bigger single that it was, while "Surprise! You're Dead!" and the title track stuff riffs down the listener's throat. The best-known song remains the appropriately titled "Epic," which lives up to its name, from the bombastic opening to the concluding piano and the crunching, stomping funk metal in between. The inclusion of a cover of Black Sabbath's "War Pigs" amusingly backfired on the band -- at the time, Sabbath's hipness level was nonexistent, making it a great screw-you to the supposed cutting-edge types. However, all the metalheads took the song to heart so much that, as a result, the quintet dropped it from their sets to play "Easy" by the Commodores instead!

-All Music


A1 From Out Of Nowhere
A2 Epic
A3 Falling To Pieces
A4 Surprise! You're Dead!
A5 Zombie Eaters
B1 The Real Thing
B2 Underwater Love
B3 The Morning After
B4 Woodpecker From Mars
C1 War Pigs (Studio Version)
C2 Edge Of The World
C3 Sweet Emotion (Kerrang! Flexi Disc)
C4 Falling To Pieces (Matt Wallace Remix)
D1 War Pigs (Live In Berlin 11th September 1989)
D2 Surprise! You're Dead! (Live In Sheffield 1990)
D3 Chinese Arithmetic (Live In Sheffield 1990)
D4 Underwater Love (Live At Brixton Academy, London 28th April 1990)
D5 As The Worm Turns (Live At Brixton Academy, London 28th April 1990)


Original Release Year: 1989

Label: Rhino Records

Catalog #: 0825646094776

Format: 2 x 12" Vinyl LP

Vinyl Color: Black

Condition: New

More details about vinyl grades

Share this Product

More from this collection