Cart 0

Show everything by Devo

Devo - Hardcore Devo Vol. 1 (LP) - Vinyl Record LP - 1

Devo - Hardcore Devo Vol. 1 (LP)

$ 21.99 $ 25.99

Release Details

Devo's 4-track recordings made between 1974 and 1977! A must for Devo fans. 2013 reissue.


While it is inconsistent, the first of Rykodisc's compilations of early four-track recordings made in Devo's basement is a necessary item for devoted fans. In addition to the original Booji Boy releases of "Satisfaction," "Jocko Homo," and "Mongoloid," Hardcore, Vol. 1 contains the full-length version of "Mechanical Man," the sarcastic satire of "Social Fools," and the flat-out weirdness of songs like "Golden Energy," "I'm a Potato," and "Uglatto." Most of these songs had not been previously available in an authorized format; many are reminiscent of the minimalist weirdness of the Residents. While some tracks are a bit short on melody, and the sound quality is mostly (and understandably) crude, they amply illustrate Devo's D.I.Y. garage-band origins and their seemingly inexhaustible (at that point) supply of satirically humorous ideas, as well as the fact that the band's patented sound was present right from the start of their long gestational period.



A1 Mechanical Man 4:20
A2 Auto Modown 2:01
A3 Space Girl Blues 1:50
A4 Social Fools 3:37
A5 Soo Bawls 2:40
A6 (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction 2:58
A7 Jocko Homo 2:53
B1 Golden Energy 2:27
B2 Buttered Beauties 3:37
B3 Midget 2:37
B4 I'm A Potato 2:35
B5 Uglatto 1:58
B6 Stop Look And Listen 2:31
B7 Ono 2:44
B8 Mongoloid


Original Release Year: 1990

Label: Superior Viaduct

Catalog #: SV024

Format:  12" Vinyl LP

Vinyl Color: Black

Condition: New

More details about vinyl grades

Share this Product

More from this collection