Cart 0

Show everything by Louis Barron

Barron, Louis - Forbidden Planet Soundtrack (Used LP) - Vinyl Record LP - 1

Barron, Louis - Forbidden Planet Soundtrack (Used LP)

$ 49.99

Release Details

Furturistic electronic soundtrack! Rare, 1976 first press!


The late Louis Barron and his then-wife Bebe created a unique score for the 1956 MGM film Forbidden Planet. Made up entirely of electronic tonalities generated by cybernetic circuits feeding back (many in their "death throes"), the music for the movie was as unearthly as anything ever heard in a Hollywood soundtrack up to that time (and for many years after as well), and captured perfectly the film's futuristic extraterrestrial setting and action. Despite their "unnatural" textures, the oscillations, pulses, beeps, wails, and electronic shrieks that make up this soundtrack are, indeed, very musical: they have distinctive patterns that evolve, shift, and change as the circuits creating them go through their "life cycles"; they interweave with each other; and they also occasionally match the action in the scenes to which they are attached. The latter element may tempt one to accuse the Barrons of having "Mickey Moused" the soundtrack, to use a derisive term indicating music that slavishly mimicks action, but in this case they can be forgiven, allowing for the unearthly setting of the movie and the need to envelop the viewer. Additionally, the Barrons were not members of the proper union to allow them to officially "score" a major studio film, and were credited with "tonalities" rather than music, which gave them considerably more freedom. Officially, they were creating a special film environment, not a film score, and succeeded so well that their work stands favorably on its own as a soundtrack.

-All Music


A1 Main Titles - Overture 2:20
A2 Deceleration 0:50
A3 Once Around Altair 1:09
A4 The Landing 0:40
A5 Flurry of Dust - A Robot Approaches 1:09
A6 A Shangri-La in the Desert / Garden with Cuddly Tiger 1:32
A7 Graveyard - A Night with Two Moons 1:15
A8 "Robby, Make Me a Gown" 1:16
A9 An Invisible Monster Approaches 0:46
A10 Robby Arranges Flowers, Zaps Monkey 1:17
A11 Love at the Swimming Hole 3:11
A12 Morbius' Study 0:37
A13 Ancient Krell Music 1:47
A14 The Mind Booster - Creation of Matter 0:56
B1 Krell Shuttle Ride and Power Station 2:31
B2 Giant Footprints in the Sand 0:45
B3 "Nothing Like This Claw Found in Nature!" 1:23
B4 Robby, The Cook, and 60 Gallons of Booze 0:56
B5 Battle with Invisible Monster 2:50
B6 "Come Back to Earth With Me" 1:17
B7 The Monster Pursues - Morbius Is Overcome 5:45
B8 The Homecoming 1:56
B9 Overture Reprise 2:13


Original Release Year: 1976

Label: Planet Records

Catalog #: PR-001

Format: 12" Vinyl LP

Vinyl Color: Black

Condition: Used - Cover in great condition, only very light wear. A piece of paper with a number written on it was taped in the upper corner. Vinyl looks like new.

Vinyl: NM

Cover: VG+

More details about vinyl grades

Share this Product

More from this collection