Cart 0

Show everything by Only Ones

Only Ones - Only Ones (LP) - CLEAR VINYL - Vinyl Record LP

Only Ones - Only Ones (LP) - CLEAR VINYL

$ 27.99 $ 32.99

Release Details

Can you believe this punk classic has never been released in the US until now???! 2015 remastered reissue limited to 500 foil numbered copies on 150-gram coke bottle clear vinyl.


The Only Ones were a band that became identified with the British punk scene largely because leader Peter Perrett had a funny voice and could write a great straightforward rock & roll song at a time when such virtues were possessed almost exclusively by the faster-and-louder brigade. This helps explain why The Only Ones' self-titled debut album is regarded as a classic of the first wave of U.K. punk despite the presence of the midtempo jazz-accented "Breaking Down"; the '50s pop moves of the opening cut, "The Whole of the Law"; "The Beast," which sounds like some sort of lethargic neo-boogie; and the graceful semi-acoustic semi-samba "No Peace for the Wicked." Of course, when The Only Ones felt like rocking out, they did it brilliantly, and along with the instant classic "Another Girl, Another Planet," this album includes the sinister but rollicking "City of Fun" and the feedback-drenched crunch of "The Immoral Story," which points to another factor that made The Only Ones heroes in their day -- their eclecticism was rooted in a genuine talent for embracing different sounds rather than the inability to pick a style and master it. Perrett and his bandmates -- John Perry on guitar, Alan Mair on bass, and Mike Kellie on drums -- sound like a tight and imaginative combo even when they're surrounded by keyboard and horn overdubs, and Perrett's tales of one guy's search for love and coherence in a fractured world are intelligent, witty, and deeply cutting at all times. If the creative ambition of The Only Ones sometimes comes at the price of a tight stylistic focus that would make these songs cohere better, every track is memorable in its own way, and these ten songs always have heart, soul, and honesty to spare -- and if that isn't always the benchmark of punk rock, it's at least in the neighborhood.



A1 The Whole Of The Law
A2 Another Girl, Another Planet
A3 Breaking Down
A4 City Of Fun
A5 The Beast
B1 Creature Of Doom
B2 It's The Truth
B3 Language Problem
B4 No Peace For The Wicked
B5 The Immortal Story


Original Release Year: 1978

Label: Drastic Plastic

Catalog #: DPRLP44

Format: 12" Vinyl LP

Vinyl Color: Coke Bottle Clear

Condition: New

More details about vinyl grades

Share this Product

More from this collection