Cart 0

Show everything by 7 Seconds

7 Seconds - Walk Together, Rock Together (Used LP) - Vinyl Record LP - 1

7 Seconds - Walk Together, Rock Together (Used LP)

$ 14.99

Release Details

Classic hardcore album! 1986 first press!


As one of first hardcore bands, 7 Seconds pioneered the sound that would give birth to a lasting subgenre of punk based around positivity and a fight for equality and human rights. Though 7 Seconds would go on to play and record in various incarnations for over 30 years after their 1980 inception, Walk Together, Rock Together stands as their most definitive statement of clear-headed purpose and youthful exuberance, as well as one of the blueprints for straight-edge punk and hardcore. This 1986 LP expands the 1985 EP of the same name by combining those studio tracks with a handful of raw live recordings representing side B. Although the album is still relatively short (clocking in at under half an hour), the band manages to speak volumes in its quick, energetic bursts of nascent punk. Studio tracks like "We're Gonna Fight" and "Regress No Way" scream with nonstop energy and bombastically positive sentiments about the struggle of the young to live life their own way and fight small-minded oppressors, racists, and hatemongers. The crisp production by Minor Threat's Ian MacKaye helps clean up some of the rougher edges that stick around on the live tracks, but never detracts from the spontaneity and excitability of the sessions. Rather than coming off as filler, the live material offers a complementary counterpoint for the studio songs. Riled-up tracks like "Still Believe" and "Bottomless Pit" crackle with a spirit of hopefulness, addressing some of the issues of the day in the microcosmic punk scene, such as unity, the integrity of other bands, and the inevitability of getting older. Unfortunately, Walk Together, Rock Together's anthems of teenage punkhood are overlooked for the inclusion of their tongue-in-cheek cover of Nena's pop hit "99 Red Balloons," a competent yet unremarkable tossed-off track that barely applies to the depth and drive of the rest of the album. Along with Group Sex by the Circle Jerks, Out of Step by Minor Threat, and Damaged by Black Flag, Walk Together, Rock Together is an essential chapter of early hardcore, and paved the way for other classics that followed, especially in the youth-positive straight-edge of the Gorilla Biscuits, Youth of Today, Judge, and many others.

-All Music


A1 In Your Face
A2 Spread
A3 99 Red Balloons
A4 Remains To Be Seen
A5 Walk Together, Rock Together
A6 How Do You Think You'd Feel?
A7 We're Gonna Fight
A8 Regress No Way
B1 Still Believe
B2 Out Of Touch
B3 Drug Control
B4 Bottomless Pit
B5 This Is The Angry (Pt 2)
B6 New Wind / We're Gonna Fight

Original Release Year: 1986

Label: BYO

Catalog #: BYO 010

Format: 12" Vinyl LP

Vinyl Color: Black

Condition: Used - Cover and vinyl are like new. Image shown above is the actual item you will receive.

Vinyl: NM

Cover: NM

More details about vinyl grades

Share this Product

More from this collection